Pet Shop Boys’ Upcoming SMASH Collects 35 Years’ Worth of Singles

The new compilation features 55 singles on six LPs or three CDs.
Pet Shop Boys
Pet Shop Boys(Facebook)

The duo of Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe, better known as Pet Shop Boys, are responsible for some of the most indelible synth-pop singles of all time, including “West End Girls,” “Opportunities (Let’s Make Lots of Money),” “Suburbia,” “What Have I Done to Deserve This?,” “Domino Dancing,” and “Minimal.”

Slicing Up Eyeballs recently reported that all of those singles, plus many more, will be part of SMASH, a 55-song collection that features all of the band’s singles from 1985 – 2020 in chronological order. (Slicing Up Eyeballs also has the full tracklist as well as shots of the release artwork.)

SMASH will be released in several physical and digital formats, including a 6LP box set, a limited edition 3-cassette box set (which is only available via the Pet Shop Boys store), and a 3CD/2Blu-Ray edition that includes all of the singles’ music videos plus lyric videos and live performances. All of the editions are available for preorder and will be released on June 16, 2023. The release will coincide with the duo’s “Dreamworld” greatest hits tour throughout Europe.

In related news, Pet Shop Boys will release a new EP titled Lost on April 14, with plans to work on a new album later this year.

Enjoy reading Opus? Want to support my writing? Become a subscriber for just $5/month or $50/year.
Subscribe Today
Return to the Opus homepage