Slowdive’s Pygmalion has been reissued

Slowdive’s final album gets the two-disc reissue treatment from Cherry Red Records.

As I was catching up on Twitter this morning, I came across this tweet from Mark Van Hoen linking to Cherry Red Records’ recent reissue of Slowdive’s Pygmalion. Which ought to be welcome news to many shoegazer fans, seeing as how Pygmalion — the band’s final album, released in 1995 — has been out of print for quite some time now.

The reissue is a two-disc release that includes the remastered original album, a second disc of Pygmalion demos (which, up until now, have only been available via less than legitimate channels), and new sleeve notes courtesy of Kieron Tyler (who also compiled the recently released Slowdive anthology The Shining Breeze).

The complete tracklist is below.

Disc 1 — Original Album

  1. Rutti
  2. Crazy For You
  3. Miranda
  4. Trellisaze
  5. Cello
  6. J’s Heaven
  7. Visions Of La
  8. Blue Skied An’ Clear
  9. All Of Us

Disc 2 — Pygmalion Demos

  1. Miranda
  2. Watch Me
  3. Yesterday
  4. To Watch
  5. Option One (Instrumental #1)
  6. Carfo
  7. Sinewaes
  8. Ambient Guitar
  9. Crazy For You (Alt Version)
  10. Krautruck
  11. Changes
  12. Red Five
Enjoy reading Opus? Want to support my writing? Become a subscriber for just $5/month or $50/year.
Subscribe Today
Return to the Opus homepage